NOT REGARDED BY THE PURISTS AS HIS FINEST MOMENT BUT…..

prince-gett-off-46419

….it’s always been one of my favourites.

Loads of great things were said about Prince on his sad and untimely death earlier this year, including on this blog from a couple of guest contributors who were huge fans.

He was another who I admired rather than adored, but every now and then I’d hear his new single and rush out and buy it. As happened in June 1991 when my purchase of the 12″ vinyl helped it get to #4 in the UK charts:-

mp3 : Prince & The New Power Generation – Gett Off (Extended Remix)
mp3 : Prince & The New Power Generation – Gett Off (Housestyle)

For those of you interested in such things, the absolutely fabulous housestyle version was produced and remixed by Steve ‘Silk’ Hurley. Oh and on other 12″ versions of the single it is known as the ‘Urge Mix’. The two tracks between them combine to make almost 17 minutes of music.

I also now have the 7″ single in the collection, and here’s your b-side which was originally scheduled to be included on the LP Diamonds & Pearls but removed at the 11th hour when Gett Off was finished off just in time. So why not….

mp3 : Prince & The New Generation – Horny Pony

Enjoy.

5 thoughts on “NOT REGARDED BY THE PURISTS AS HIS FINEST MOMENT BUT…..

  1. The Hurley Remix is massive. I remember dancing along with a basement full of sweating, likeminded people at Giant Step in NYC when it came out. It was one a unified mass of bodies ebbing and flowing on the dance floor.

  2. Not regarded by me as his finest moment… probably wouldn’t make my top 100…!!! but the hurlex mix is great!

  3. Well played, sir. I dig this tune the most.
    Just danced my ass off to it last nite at a Friends of Education dinner with my lovely bride (when the lame-ass DJ finally found it!).
    Yes, I’m a funky schoolteacher who scared his fellow molders of our future generation by writhing all over the dancefloor.
    Nice piece o’ serendipity u postin’ it the morning after…

Leave a comment