MORE STUFF THAT BY-PASSED MY TEENAGE YEARS

R-1024023-1246796296.jpeg

Released in February 1978. It didn’t get near the charts. Indeed, I’d be surprised if it got much in the way of radio play. I know for sure that John Peel would have played it as it was performed in session in January 1978, one of three such sessions that Wire did for his show. But his listeners weren’t that enthusiastic, never once voting the quartet into the Festive 50 during their late 70s/early 80s heyday.

But it’s considered a classic of its ilk nowadays:-

mp3 : Wire – I Am The Fly

The flip side of the 7″ was one of the most popular tracks from the previous LP, Pink Flag, that had been released in November 1977:-

mp3 : Wire – Ex-Lion Tamer

And to round things off:-

mp3 : Wire – I Am The Fly (Peel Session)

Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “MORE STUFF THAT BY-PASSED MY TEENAGE YEARS

  1. I’m putting together a Festive Fifty at the moment (this is not a plug) and was surprised at not finding them in there.

    This is one of those track that if you ask people to name a well know band/song that Peel played, they’ll invariably mention this.

  2. heard this played over the PA at my first ever gig – The Undertones @ Eric’s Liverpool (matinee show) possibly ’89
    It’s stuck with me ever since… (in a very good way!)

Leave a comment