THE CINERAMA SINGLES (11)

R-709810-1150471514.jpeg

I mentioned last time round that you could do worse than track down a second-hand copy of Torino, the third studio LP from Cinerama that was released back in 2002. Here’s further evidence of how good a record it is, with this the third and final flop single lifted from it:-

mp3 : Cinerama – Careless

This was a low-key release which is no real surprise given that the world continued to more or less ignore Cinerama. David Gedge must have been pulling his hair out at the fact that bands whose four or five members had less collective talents than he had in his pinky finger were making fortunes while he was now playing venues that he could have filled three and four times over a decade earlier with his old band. The two new songs were seemingly cut around the same time as those that had made it on to Torino:-

mp3 : Cinerama – This Isn’t What It Looks Like
mp3 : Cinerama – Sparkle Lipstick

The fact was, Cinerama in a five-year period, had now released 3 albums and 11 singles of a very high standard to absolutely no avail. The fact too that the band, when playing live, were now sneaking the odd TWP number into the sets perhaps gave an inkling that David was mulling over what to do next……

One thought on “THE CINERAMA SINGLES (11)

  1. I’m sorry to say that Cinerama pretty much passed me by at the time. I remember a lad I played football with at the time extolling their virtues on a weekly basis – I should have paid more attention. Unfortunately with a very young family, the most demanding job I ever had and seriously ill parents, the 1997 – 2004 period saw my interest in new bands and music dip somewhat. I am finding this series really interesting – thanks.

Leave a comment