I’VE DANCED TO THIS IN EACH OF THE 70s, 80s, 90s, 00s and 10s.

R-2403670-1295365262.jpeg
This sounded really weird on first listen back in 1979. And 37 (!!!!!!!) years on I still think it has a fair degree of weirdness.

But when I say that, I am praising and not castigating the record for it’s one that has aged magnificently.

mp3 : The B-52’s – Planet Claire

Ok, I know that it chunders along in much the same way as The Theme From Peter Gunn, but back in 1979 I had no idea of the existence of that bit of music….

Planet Claire is one of those songs that I sort of dread coming up on random shuffle on the i-pod if I’m using public transport as its impossible to keep still while it plays. At the very minimum my head will move from side to side and my shoulders will start shaking, thus putting my fellow passengers in great fear that I’m about to suffer some sort of fit. And god forbid that it should ever come on when I’m half-drunk as I’m very likely to wail tunelessly in a dreadful impression of the organ sound…

Here’s the equally bizarre b-side:-

mp3 : The B-52’s – There’s A Moon In The Sky (Called The Moon)

Enjoy

PS

Last call for readers to e-mail me lists of their Top 10 LPs for 2015 so that I can submit a collective entry for the BAMS 2015.  Click on this post for more background.

10 thoughts on “I’VE DANCED TO THIS IN EACH OF THE 70s, 80s, 90s, 00s and 10s.

  1. I work with someone called Claire who is very definitely on her own planet and therefore I recently felt obliged to share this song with colleagues!

  2. Blessed as I am with two left feet, rug cutting ain’t usually in my nature, but I believe even I may have thrown a few shapes to this one back in the mists of time. A classic!

  3. Some say she’s from Mars or one of the seven stars that shine after three thirty in the morning. BUT SHE ISN’T!

    Hee Hee

  4. Absolutely my favorite B-52’s song! And the first song I ever sang in front of an audience when I was in a high school covers band.

  5. I remember staying up late to see them on Saturday Night Live way back in 1980. They did an incredible version of ‘Dance This Mess Around’ followed later in the show by ‘Rock Lobster’. There was nothing else like those first few albums of theirs.

  6. Hate to say this but everything that came after the second album, Wild Planet, was complete rubbish…especially Love Shack and that needless duet with REM on Shiny Happy People.

Leave a comment