SATURDAY’S SCOTTISH SONG : #11 : APPLE SCRUFFS

The+Apple+Scruffs

I can’t remember which particular blogger it was who posted up an mp3 of the debut single by The Apple Scruffs but what I do know is that the day after reading about it I saw a copy in a record shop in Glasgow and bought it.

There’s very little info about the band out there.  What I can gleam is they were mates who decided to form a band and to make their songs relevant to their everyday lives and surroundings.  They gigged relentlessly in 2005/06 (although I can’t ever recall coming across them at any point) and in late 2006 they released the debut on Vaults Recordings.

mp3 : The Apple Scruffs – Danielle

I can’t find details of whether or not there was ever a follow-up but there is every likelihood there was given that it wasn’t until 2010 that the band called it a day.

Enjoy

Leave a comment