COVERING MARC BOLAN & T-REX

marcbolan

Don’t know what prompted me to think about this, but I realised not too long ago that I’ve quite a number of Marc Bolan & T Rex cover versions in the collection, most of them having been released as b-sides on various singles. As I’m feeling a bit lazy today, I thought I’d just gather a bunch of them together and offer them up for y0ur listening pleasure:-

mp3 : Department S – Solid Gold Easy Action
mp3 : Lloyd Cole – The Slider
mp3 : Teenage Fanclub – Life’s A Gas
mp3 : Altered Images – Jeepster
mp3 : Morrissey – Cosmic Dancer (live)
mp3 : Violent Femmes – Children of The Revolution
mp3 : Placebo – 20th Century Boy

I was the oldest of three boys in my family and therefore didn’t really have anyone to offer guidance on who or what was cool when I was young.  I always imagined that if I had had an older sister then the walls of her bedroom would hve been covered in Bolan paraphenalia and that his songs would be blaring all constantly….just as they did round at my best mate’s house with his two older sisters!

mp3 : T Rex – I Love To Boogie

Enjoy

3 thoughts on “COVERING MARC BOLAN & T-REX

  1. Great selection, I must have heard Altered Images’ Jeepster before but no recollection so thanks for posting. I do recall my uncle’s wall, who was a teenager in the early seventies, and the looming T Rex and Ziggy posters.
    For me the best cover version b-side, maybe of all time, is Siouxsie and the Banshees’ 20th Century Boy, on a similar gothic theme to Bauhaus’ Telegram Sam 🙂

Leave a comment