THE MOZ SINGLES (Part 21)

download (1)

It was back in August 1994 that the world got to listen to the fruits of the union between Morrissey and Siouxsie Sioux. It was a track that had been recorded at least nine months before release during the sessions for Vauxhall And I, an LP which had hit the shelves in March 1994.

The song is a cover originally recorded by Timi Yuro. If like me, you don’t know anything about the lady, then this obituary from The Guardian newspaper back in 2004 might assist.

The lack of a b-side on this CD single didn’t help sales, and it only reached #25 in the UK charts, a position that was, at the time, very consistent with that of most solo offerings from the two protagonists – which makes me think either every Morrissey fan in 1994 bought Siouxsie & The Banshees singles (and vice-versa), or it was a single that many fans missed out on because they weren’t aware of its existence. The latter is possible given that there was absolutely no promotional work done on the single at all – no video or TV appearances – and it got next to no airplay on radio.

Personally, I think it is quite lovely:-

mp3 : Morrissey & Siouxsie – Interlude
mp3 : Morrissey & Siouxsie – Interlude (extended)
mp3 : Morrissey & Siouxsie – Interlude (instrumental)

The sleeve from a snap taken in 1957 by Roger Mayne, and is entitled Girl Jiving In Southam Street. Southam Street is in the North Kensington district of London, and as far as I know, the girl in question has never been identified (but to my eyes has the look of Kirsten Dunst)

Happy Listening

2 thoughts on “THE MOZ SINGLES (Part 21)

  1. Agreed, a rather lovely tune. I understand there was a bit of a falling out between Moz and Sioux regarding the video. From ‘Morrissey & Marr: The Severed Alliance’:

    IN 1993 SIOUXSIE received an invite from Morrissey to duet on a cover of “Interlude”, a late-’60s ballad originally sung by Timi Yuro. Released as a one-off single the following year, Morrissey and Siouxsie fell out dramatically over discussions for an accompanying video.

    “I’d always liked him, not particularly for his material, but because he was a personality that didn’t fit into any pigeonhole,” explains Siouxsie. “I’d been living in France so I had no idea, until Severin told me, that he’d been doing stuff with the Union Jack. I hate nationalism, that over-the-top British thing. The original video idea was to show Ruth Ellis being led to the gallows, which I loved, but which didn’t happen. Instead he wanted a bulldog, which I didn’t understand. Why a bulldog? So I questioned him about his pro-British thing and told him I couldn’t have that. I said, ‘Pick another dog, like a Chihuahua or something. A monkey. Anything!’ That’s all it was about, really. But the principle was that he wanted to go along with that imagery. I don’t know why he wanted to stick to his guns so much. And, no, we’ve not spoken since.”

Leave a comment