A NOVEL WAY TO CELEBRATE YOUR 45th BIRTHDAY

RCA-Portable-Record-Player1

A guest posting from long-time reader Jim Chambers

So… the vinyl villain inspired me – he didn’t know it but I can’t thank him enough for planting this particular seed in my mind and he is indirectly reaponsible for my hangover a few weeks ago. It was his 45 45s series that got me thinking…

I’ve just celebrated my 45th birthday so I’m of the generation when a 7″ single really meant something. I threw a party – the first house party since I was a student I think. (You know the way you get slightly precious about the carpet and all that.)

I invited 45 people to my house. The only condition was they had to bring their favourite 7″ single. I hired decks, a smoke machine and strobes (it was a package – honest I didn’t get carried away)…

Everyone got into the spirit of it, bringing along some absolute classics. And everyone is a secret DJ – given the chance. Even if they want to play Remember You’re A Womble. My mates spoke about what they were going to play in their ‘set’ as if they were headlining the dance tent at Glastonbury, which was all quite amusing. The night got a little hazy after the third round of sambucas but I can remember a good friend of mine and me dancing away and shouting all the words to Lost Weekend at each other much to the astonishment of everyone else. If only I’d remembered my schoolwork as well as I could remember lyrics…

There was serious drinking, dancing, grown men hugging each other and much laughter.

And obviously when you get to ‘a certain age’ it’s unusual to see so many of your friends in the same room – it’s normally reserved for weddings etc so personally the night was a sheer delight. It wasn’t without its moments… The occasional row etc but nothing too serious. The carpet didn’t get ruined, nothing got damaged and the neighbours didn’t complain so all in all a great, memorable night.

The records I’ve chosen are all Scottish (in honour of JC) and all went down well on the night.

mp3 : Lloyd Cole & the Commotions – Lost Weekend
mp3 : Bronski Beat – Smalltown Boy (12″ version)
mp3 : Big Country – In A Big Country (LP version)

So thanks JC for inspiring me and thanks for allowing me to share the story. My friends are now all looking forward to a 78s party which I expect will be a much more sedate affair.

JIM

5 thoughts on “A NOVEL WAY TO CELEBRATE YOUR 45th BIRTHDAY

  1. Now this really sounds like great fun had by all … and what a fabulous idea, to be sure! Alas I wouldn’t even know 45 people which I could invite and the few that I would invite don’t care about music at all … if they still have 7″ singles – which I strongly doubt – ALL of them would come to the party with Europe’s ‘Final Countdown’, that’s for sure …..

  2. it was a coincidence that it was 45 people…! and they all really got in to the idea… some bringing boxes that they’ve had for years but there were a fair few ebay purchases… the most owned record was call me by blondie… no final countdown sadly…

  3. Hey Jim
    Honoured to be part of it (in some small way)
    Just wish I’d thought of it for my 45th
    Only another 33 (and-a-third?) years to your 78th!

  4. Jim, great idea for a party. I like the line about being a bit preciious about the carpet.

Leave a comment